Fitting the Pieces Together

During the past few weeks we have learned about some of the different Learning Theories that exist like Behaviorism, Congnitivism, Constructivism, Social Learning, Connectivism and Adult Learning. We learned about multiple intelligence; we have looked at videos, read through dozens of articles, blogs and wiki pages; we have looked at research on how the brain process information and on how technology has played an important role in how we learn today. All of these in order to understand how people learn and in the process rediscover how do we learn as well.

On my first group discussion post I remember saying that I never really paid much attention to the way I learned. Based on my initial readings of the different learning theories, immediately I said to myself: ‘the theory that best describes me is Constructivism’. “Constructivism is the theory that equates learning with creating meaning from experience” (Bednar et al 1991). In part I still think it is true, but now not as much as before.

I have learned that the best approach to learning is a flexible one. I learned that a person cannot be defined by one specific theory. Because of this I am able to see how I have evolved. I see myself at different points of my learning experience represented in different theories. Initially through Behaviorism, when I learned by repetition and in Cognitivism when I relied more on memory. I still do but I have picked up some techniques to assist my learning along the way.

Now I see that my learning style has blended in with others, if you could say that, because I realize that I am more dependant on my professional and social networks, as well as the internet, to get most of the information I use on a daily basis.

I see myself represented also under the Connectivism theory. “Connectivism is a learning theory, in which knowledge exists outside of the learner, and the learner makes connections between information to build knowledge. The connections that learners make help them create their own learning network. Through this connected web, learners will be able to stay up-to-date with content as it changes” (Ireland, 2007).

Being able to stay current in different topics is very important to me. Knowing and learning how to get information is vital, not just because I want to become an ID, but because my job and my livelihood depends on it (Motivation). Technology plays a huge role in the way I learn and in my day-to-day life. Especially the internet which has become one of my primary sources of information.

Reference

  • Bednar, A.K., Cunningham, D., Duffy, T.M, & Perry, J.D. (1991). Theory into practice: How do we link? In G.J. Anglin (Ed), Instructional technology: Past, present, and future. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited.
  • Web Article: Ireland, T. (2007). Behaviorism, Cognitivism, Constructivism & Connectivism. Retrieved from:

http://ci484-learning-technologies.wikispaces.com/Behaviorism,+Cognitivism,+Constructivism+%26+Connectivism

Leave a Reply

